Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey all! It’s with great pleasure that I introduce somebody who I absolutely adore, and had the honour of listening to perform. If you’re based in Leeds, you’d probably know about this amazing artist. Yes, I am talking about the unique beauty: Malaika Shaw. For those who have yet to hear of her, take a look at our short but sweet interview, and keep Malaika in your Top list to see, when you eventually visit Leeds. If there’s anything you need to do this year, it’s to experience one of her amazing gigs. You won’t be the same. I sure am not. Once I heard her amazing voice, I became her biggest fan (groupie). 


Hello Malaika and thank you for taking the time to talk to me. Who are you what do you do and where do you come from?

I am Malaika Shaw. I am a Musician and Songwriter and come from Ireland. I am also half african.

When did you first start playing the guitar?

I was 11, found a guitar in the loft, and discovered my true passion for music. I thought I was going to be the next Dimebag Darrell! At 18 i purchased an acoustic guitar and started writing and recording.

I can imagine that since playing for quite some time, you’d naturally develop your own style. Explain your sound and musical style?

It’s a mix of Pop, Soul and Jazz,.

Do you mind telling us what your songs are about?

They are about a lot of different things. Some are about love and general life however sometimes I could write about thing totally fiction.

That is quite a unique take on song themes. What inspires you to write the songs you write?

I was determined to create a sound which merged R&B and Jazz. I didn’t know of any other artist making music like that at the time I started.

What has been the biggest highlight of your musical journey?

So far its got to be going over to perform at the Montreal Jazz Festival. So many of my favourite artists have played this and it was a huge honour to share a stage with Jamie Cullum.

What can we expect over the next few months from Malaika?

I will be doing a really exciting gig at the Wardrobe in Leeds on the 3rd of October, supporting Riot jazz. I cant wait. I am also doing lots of writing and recording. So expect to hear some more music in the next couple of months.

Thank you Malaika!

To connect with Malaika, Just head over to her Facebook here!

