Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings all!

As usual I have scoured the streets of London, looking for its finest people and establishments. This week I had the chance to catch up with A Screenwriter who’s ideas are unlike any you’ve seen before. Ok so let’s get started!


First things first. Who are you, where do you come from and what do you do?

I am Michael Valentine Everett, I’m from good old South East London; Lewisham.
By day I’m a consumer consultant but by night I write screen plays for films.

Interesting practice. What inspired you to be a Screenwriter?

A lot of things really. Growing up me and my family loved, and still love films and anything with a good story be it anime, games or even books.
I love the whole idea of creating something from nothing. Starting with blank pages and filling them out and saying yeah, I did that.
And having people watch your creation and actually laugh, it’s a great feeling.

I will accept you 100% just don’t come down on me when I fail you by accident or my flaws show, because I will always accept you.

It sounds like you’ve been inspired by quite a variety of things. Do you have certain specific influences?

Definitely, Christopher Nolans films just… Mate. You watch them on the big screen and leave knowing that was money well spent… It was a great journey. Even if you don’t understand the whole story *cough* interstellar and inception.
Also certain anime like One Piece, about this any guy who sets out to become great, start an adventure, make new friends and build strong bonds. You find yourself caring for the characters, even tho you know they don’t exist!

Tell us about your current projects?

I am currently working on two very different films. One is Deep Dive; a story about a young man and his monkey who set out to get a crew, become a great pirate, and find his mum who left him and his dad when he was a child. Equipped with a mysterious sword, the Crimson Hummingbird and eventually obtaining the ship; the Soaring Albatross, he gets caught up in all kinds of adventures.

 Don’t hold onto things that let you down.

The second, is a smart scale piece about a typical average guy meets girl scenario. However he one day realises he has the ability to rewind time by a certain amount. He ends up using this ability to make this relationship “perfect” redoing any mistakes and re-living every moment to make it “perfect”…. Until…. Lol

I get the feeling that there lies an overall moral somewhere. Do you have a certain message with your projects? If so, how does it reflect who you are?

Yes! With the second one, the message for that is that flaws, failures and imperfections are needed in our lives. They help mound and shape us into who we are. Our greatest lessons happen after our greatest failures and mistakes. And I personally believe we are all flawed in some way, but it’s all about accept people as they are, flaws and all, and not expecting perfection; especially in relationships. I have the attitude of “I will accept you 100% just don’t come down on me when I fail you by accident or my flaws show, because I will always accept you.”

Everyone is supporting each other but I do feel that there are many wonderful ideas that aren’t given a chance to shine.

And for Deep Dive it’s simple, just enjoy your life. Don’t take it too seriously, we’re only here for what, 70+ years? Try to spend as much of that as you can enjoying. Don’t hold onto things that let you down.

What’s your thoughts on the industry in London? Do you feel that creativity is represented well here?

I feel it’s growing, plenty of film festivals, even the online community is thriving. Everyone is supporting each other but I do feel that there are many wonderful ideas that aren’t given a chance to shine. Plenty of original and exciting material that just needs a chance to get out there.
The small indie projects need more limelight.

What’s next for Michael Everett?

Next? Next we have Deep Dive 3, the last install enemy of the series. Most films you write, expecting it to be the only one, but with Deep Dive we always had a 3 part in mind.
Collaborations with my brothers, and maybe even other screenwriters out there! Definitely try my hand at entering film festivals! And reaching out to find others in London on the same creative wave!

Thank you Michael!

To Connect with Michael simply click here!

 

